Life is beautiful

In the car today, I heard a song that made a big impression on me when I first heard it.  It’s from the band Sixx : A.M., which is a side project of Mötley Crüe’s Nikki Sixx.

The song comes from the band’s first album, The Heroin Diaries.  Sixx released a book of the same name that recounts a harrowing year in which he, for all intents and purposes, died.  This was after he’d pushed everyone away from him and had gone as low as you can imagine…then started digging.

And no, I’m not one of these guys that admire rockstars that sink to the bottom then claw their way back out.  Personally, I think if you’re fortunate enough to have the talent to get you somewhere and the luck to stumble upon the right sequences and people to get you there, then you sure as hell don’t piss it away by pumping yourself full of alcohol and drugs while steadfastly killing every relationship you spent a lifetime building just because you consider yourself special now.  No way in hell.

At the same time, I do have to admire the guy that went to hell and back and is now telling the tale and doing what he can to prevent others from taking that same road, which he is doing.

But that’s not the focus here.  The focus is on some of the lyrics to Life is Beautiful

You can’t quit until you try
You can’t live until you die
You can’t learn to tell the truth
Until you learn to lie

You can’t breathe until you choke
You gotta laugh when you’re the joke
There’s nothing like a funeral to make you feel alive

I know some things that you don’t
I’ve done things that you won’t
There’s nothing like a trail of blood to find your way back home

I was waiting for my hearse
What came next was so much worse
It took a funeral to make me feel alive

Just open your eyes
Just open your eyes
And see that life is beautiful.

Here’s the video, if you like it loud and proud.

Sixx : A.M. – Life is Beautiful

I originally have several paragraphs here on suicide, but really, when I got down to it, death isn’t what I want to talk about.

I want to talk about life.

Look again at these lyrics.

You can’t quit until you try
You can’t live until you die
You can’t learn to tell the truth
Until you learn to lie


I think what he’s saying is, you’ve got to experience it all, the bad and the good.  But when you see the bad, that’s when you learn to appreciate the good.  You can’t live until you die.

There’s nothing like a funeral to make you feel alive

It’s kind of a sad thing, but I think that’s the forgotten part of a funeral.  The first part is to ease our minds that the person has gone on to a better place, that they’re no longer suffering.  We do what we can to ensure we don’t think their death is senseless or in vain.  But the other thing that we should take from that is that we’re still here.  Every day on the right side of the dirt is a good one.  We’ve still got more living to do.

I know some things that you don’t
I’ve done things that you won’t
There’s nothing like a trail of blood to find your way back home

We each have our own experiences, our own reality.  Often, we choose to learn things the hard way.  God knows I do.  And sometimes we choose, either willingly or unwillingly, to hurt others.  Sometimes enough to leave a trail of blood.  Sometimes it’s better to just keep going and hope we’ve learned from our mistakes to minimize the spilling of more blood.  And sometimes we have to follow that trail back and correct our mistakes.  More often than not, I think I’ve found my way back home following a trail of blood.

I was waiting for my hearse
What came next was so much worse
It took a funeral to make me feel alive

Sometimes we just feel like giving up, packing it all in.  How can it get worse that it already is, right?  And that’s when we can see how much more hurt can be piled on.  There’s always more.  But you know what?  It’s never more than we can handle.  We can think that we’re done, that we can’t handle it.  But we we can.  And then something will happen–something really bad, something really good, something really earthshaking, or something small–but something, and you’ll feel alive again.

And you’ll open your eyes like it was the first time.

Just open your eyes
And see that life is beautiful.

Don’t ever give up.  Life is beautiful.

8 thoughts on “Life is beautiful

  1. Pingback: The perfect storm « Left to Write

  2. Yeah, you are rite Sometimes we need funeral to show that we are still alive ,we have many things in our life deserve to see and to live to touch ,we are blind .
    come close to see my heart

  3. Pingback: Life is hard | Left to Write

  4. Indeed Life is beautiful..!! But, Unless,One would accept the life realities..!! Man is Emotional animal..Rather Living in Life realities..He Love to Live in Dreams..And dreams seldom comes True..!! Life would be beautiful, Serving to Mankind..!! A great Service to Man ..A Great Service to God..!!

  5. Pingback: Searching so long | My Dysfunctional Life

Leave a Reply

