21

Hard to believe yet another year has gone by.  Today, I’ve been married exactly 21 years.

I can’t believe it’s been a year since I wrote the My Thanksgiving post and yet, here we are.

I don’t know what more I can say about my wife that I haven’t already said, and I’ve also got a bit of a surprise for her over here as well.

I guess I’ll just say this.  I’ve been with this same woman for virtually half my life.  She’s taught me a lot about life, about success, about perseverance, about believing in someone when that person didn’t even believe.  She’s shown me what hard work and honesty can bring.

She’s made me laugh until tears ran down my face and I couldn’t breathe.  She’s held me when I’ve cried and I felt like I couldn’t go on.  She’s supported me, and stuck by me long after someone else–probably anyone else–would have left me behind.

She laughs at my stupid jokes, she holds her own in that department too.  Though she can be aggravating and has some habits and mannerisms that drive me nuts, I’m sure they’re nowhere near as bad as what I do to her at times.  Yet still, she puts up with me.

She never gives herself enough credit.  She’s the most caring person I’ve ever met, she’d give you the shirt off her back if you needed it.

She and I have been through a hell of a lot over the past 21 years and I’m sure the ride’s going to be just as crazy for the time we have left as well.  But Karen makes it fun.

I know there’s some out there that have never accepted my wife, for whatever reason, but in the end, hell, that’s their loss.

She’s been my friend, my lover, my confidant.  She’s raised me up when I needed it and she’s slapped me down when I deserved it.  She’s damn near killed me but in the end,, she saved my life. She’s an amazing woman.

She’s my wife.

Every time I hear this song, I think of us.

When I was younger man I hadn’t a care
Foolin’ around, hitting the town, growing my hair
You came along and stole my heart when you entered my life
Ooh babe you got what it takes so I made you my wife

As my head was comin’ round
I gazed into your eyes
And thought ooh I want you

Thanks again for being my friend
And straightenin’ out my life
’cause ooh I need you

Since then I never looked back
It’s almost like living a dream
And ooh I love you

Happy anniversary, Karen.  I love you.

7 thoughts on “21

  1. I am so happy for you both! You are made for each other, one of the best matches I have ever seen. Congratulations!

  2. Thank you sweetheart. Happy Anniversary. I love you too. The blog is beautiful and of course my eyes are full of tears.

  3. You are both so blessed to have each other in your lives. P.S. I remember your wedding, Dave said he’d never get married. 19 years this year we’ve been married. You must of inspired him Tobin…..

Leave a Reply

