The Versatile Blogger Award

Once again, someone has seen fit to send me an award for this dopey little blog.  Once again, it’s Elizabeth over at the Garden Gate.  Elizabeth is one of my absolute constant readers and supporters.  If I haven’t written a blog in a while, Elizabeth is the second one to give me a smack upside the head and, with stern face, ask when the next one is coming.  The first is usually my wife.

So thank you Elizabeth.  You’re a great blogger, friend and fellow WCSC Board Member.  For everyone else, go read Elizabeth’s blog.  Go now.  Read hers instead of mine.  It’s better.

You don’t receive an award without having to do a little work.  There are rules to be followed!  I’m to thank the person who gave me the Award (check!) and link back to them (and…check!).

Now I have to share seven things about myself… So settle in for seven points of boredom.  Here we go.

  1. Up until I was in my mid-forties, I never drank coffee.  Couldn’t stand the Black Juice from Hell.  And then I started falling asleep at the wheel on the way into work and on the way home.  And not just once in a while.  Every time I drove it.  I don’t know how I didn’t get killed.  And it was only work.  So that tells you a little about what my body was telling me about my job at the time.  “I’d rather you fall asleep and get into a horrible flaming car wreck that allow you another day at the office.”  Yep, my boss was great at the time.  Anyway, my doctor told me I had to fix this immediately or he’d pull my licence.  So I started drinking coffee.  It’s taken me up to about six months ago to finally get the Ultimate Perfect Coffee.  An extra-large mug, a heaping spoonful of brown sugar and a generous splash of chocolate milk.  So now I drink coffee everyday.  (Why yes, as a matter of fact I am drinking one right now and it’s fantastic, thanks for asking.)
  2. I have a weird ability.  I’m right-handed.  So naturally, I write with my right hand.  And I can, with almost 49 years of practice, do that quite well.  I’m not ambidextrous.  My left hand is useless when I try to write anything.  But–and here’s the weird thing–what I can do is write mirror-image with my left hand.  All the letters backwards and the words reading from right to left.  Da Vinci style.  And I can do it quickly, as quick as I write with the right hand.  And fairly legibly.  And I don’t even have to think about it.  Don’t know how I even discovered that one.  Weird, huh?
  3. I love love love walking my dog.  Yes, he seems to take three times as long when it’s raining buckets.  Yes, he will sometimes dislocate my shoulder when he spies a rabbit or squirrel.  Yes, there’s times when he just gets too damn picky on which leg he’s going to lift to pee (I can almost hear his thoughts as he dances and wobbles around the tree…”my left leg…no, the right one…nah, used that last time…the left…wait no, I gotta cramp, the right…nope, used that last time…check out the stupid face on my human…the left one…”).  So yeah, he can do all that.  But when we’re out walking, the world shrinks down to just him and I and we can go wherever we want.  So it doesn’t really matter if it’s pouring buckets or freezing cold.  The world is ours.
  4. I surround myself with people who are better than me.  And believe me, it ain’t hard to be smarter than me!  But seriously, at work, I work on a team with some brilliant people and come in contact with many more, I’m constantly being challenged to do more, learn more, be more.  And I do.  With friends, they’re smarter, funnier and nicer than me.  So I learn to be smarter, funnier and nicer.  With my family…well, they’re just amazing people that I thank God I have every day.  Family is the reason you do all the other things in your life for.  To keep them safe and healthy and happy.  I know that now.
  5. I really don’t give a flying fark what anyone thinks of me.  I spent a large portion of my life trying to please others when they should have accepted me for who I was.  I don’t do that any more.  I’m who I am, right or wrong, good or bad.  Many don’t like that, and that’s fine.  Some do, and they’re my friends.  It’s been a long road, but I’m much happier now.
  6.  If I’ve learned one thing in my life, it’s this:  You can have all the friends, all the family, all the fulfilling work, all the spare time, all the disposable income, all the toys and material things…you can have all of this.  But if you don’t have your health, then the rest doesn’t mean a thing.
  7. I’m going to steal my last point from Elizabeth and let you know my favourite saying, which is, “What would you do if you knew you would not fail?” by Robert Schuller.  Too often in my life I let opportunities slip away because I “knew” I’d fail.  Too often I held back.  Too often I didn’t believe in myself.  But really, if you knew you were never going to fail, you’d try anything, wouldn’t you?  So now?  I’ll try anything.  Yeah, I might fail, but I’ll learn something from that failure and use it later on.  Or, hey, you never know…maybe I won’t fail at all.

So, share seven things about myself…check!

Next I have to forward the Award to fifteen lucky people. In no particular order, those fifteen would be (and click on their names to be taken directly to their blogs):

  • Bound by the Word - Noelle always has a fascinating observation or question and she has some amazing people come by to comment.
  • Atoll Annie and the Non-Specific Rim - quite possibly my favourite blog.  Annie’s stories are hilarious, mind-boggling and always thought provoking.  And she’s a brilliant writer to boot.
  • Nine Day Wonder - Pat’s blog on writing.  Phenomenal observations.  Pat’s one of those smarter people I surround myself with.
  • Theatre of the Mind - Pat’s blog on OTR (Old Time Radio).  Not my favourite medium, but Pat makes it interesting. Seriously, the output of this woman scares me.
  • Michael Lorenson - Just one of those fun to read blogs.  Though his recent obsession with chain-mail is getting me a touch worried…
  • The Ongoing Adventures of the Undisciplined Writer – The third-person UW (Undisciplined Writer) has all the same worries as the rest of us UWs…she just gets them down in a funny way.
  • Hapless Dad – Just another dad tying to make it in the big bad world.
  • The Black Lands – Home to Ian Rogers, fellow Burning Effigy Press author and all-round super-nice guy…who just happens to write some killer horror stories.
  • Kevin Craig – Writer, poet, playwright, regular participant in the Muskoka Novel Marathon (as is Pat a few bullet points up above)…his blog is an interesting chronicle of a writing life.
  • Writing in the Dark – I’ve just recently found this blog (because, quite frankly, it’s a recently started blog), but Tim’s got some great observations in the few blogs he’s written.  I’m looking forward to many more.
  • Cheryl Andrews – Cheryl is just one of the coolest ladies and a big supporter of the writing life…and her blog ain’t too shabby either!
  • The Domestic Fringe – I gotta say, the adventures of FringeGirl (Tricia) and FringeFamily is not something I would normally go for, but her enthusiasm for life and ridiculously excited blogs always leave me smiling.
  • Washburn Island: Memoir of a Childhood – Mary’s a former Creative Writing student of mind and just a lovely woman.  Her blog covers off a lot of ground…but I gotta say, I love the Suburban Warfare features best of all.
  • Unstructured Ramblings – Well, okay only one ramble so far, but I hope this award will spur Dan to continue rambling…uh…unstructuredly…yeah.
  • Keeping Up With Life – Okay, I’m gonna say this right up front…I don’t get Tumblr.  It makes no sense to me.  What I do like is that I get an interesting glimpse into my daughter’s world.  And I like that.

For those I’ve highlighted above, I hope you all enjoy your Awards (check!) and enjoy paying them forward!  For those of you that read, go out and check these blogs out.  They may not all be to your taste, but you never know when you’ll find one that you just love.

And I think my next blog will be on an easy way to keep track of all those blogs.

Thanks again, Elizabeth!

7 thoughts on “The Versatile Blogger Award

  1. I’m glad the coffee is working for you! I don’t drink caffeine myself, because you can imagine what my ridiculously excitable personality would look like on caffeine. It wouldn’t be pretty. My husband cannot function without the stuff.

    The mirror-image writing thing you do with your left hand – I’m pretty sure that makes you a genius. Seriously. Your mind obviously works in crazy-cool ways.

    You’re right about having our health. Nothing else really matters. The moment you get really sick or are diagnosed with terrible long-term illness, everything you thought was important is not. It puts your priorities in order, all in a moments time.

    Thank you for passing on the award and your kind words. I appreciate it!
    Have a great weekend!
    ~FringeGirl

  2. Thanks, Tobin! Congratulations to you on getting the award. I definitely plan to continue blogging and thoroughly enjoyed writing my first blog post. Hopefully, I will improve over time and one day be as good as you and Pat are.

    Thanks again for your words of encouragement. :)

    Dan.

  3. Tobin,

    Thanks so much for the nice compliment and the award. What a treat! You have some wild personality traits…writing backwards is a trip. I don’t think I’ve ever heard of that before.

    I love your description of walking your dog. I wish I found the dance of the hiked leg as entertaining…maybe I just have to change my attitude.

    Speaking of attitude, I love how you describe the things that are important in life, like…it doesn’t matter what others think of you (got to remember that one!), center yourself around those who inspire, and always remember that if you don’t have your health the rest doesn’t matter. Oh, and enjoy a strong cup of coffee daily so you can stay awake for the ride!

    Thanks again, Tobin. Now I have to check out your favorite blogs. There are some that I have not had the pleasure to read.

  4. Hi Tobin, thanks for the nomination!! I’m honoured. I will get on to nominating some blogs myself…after I’ve had some coffee. Cheers!

  5. Pingback: Lord of the Pee-Pee Dance « Left to Write

Leave a Reply

